Authority Archive

Shri. Yashwant S Bhave


Shri Yashwant S Bhave a retired IAS Officer (1972 batch, Maharashtra Cadre), a Master in Science with Electronics as a specialization, and Master in Public Administration from the Harvard University, had taken over as the first Chairperson of Airports Economic Regulatory Authority (AERA) with effect from 1st August 2009.

At the time of joining AERA Shri Bhave had over 37 years of experience in different capacities, various important portfolios in the Government of Maharashtra such as CEO of Maharashtra Industrial Development Corporation, M.D. of State Principal Corporation, Chairman of State Electricity Board, Development Commission (Industries), Principal Secretary Department of Industry in the Government of India and another number of important positions in the Departments of Information Technology, Administrative Reforms, Pensions & Public Grievances as well as Special Secretary, Telecom and Secretary and Telecom Commission. His last position, prior to appointment as Chairperson AERA, was Secretary, Department of Consumer Affairs, Government of India. He completed his tenure in AERA on 15th July 2014.

Shri S. Machendranathan


Shri S. Machendranathan took over as Chairperson, Airports Economic Regulatory Authority of India on 9th March 2015.

Shri Machendranathan who hails from Tirunelveli District, Tamil Nadu had a distinguished academic career. After completing MBA from Cochin University, he joined the Indian Police Service (IPS) in 1977 and thereafter the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) in 1979.

An IAS officer of the Tamil Nadu cadre, Shri S. Machendranathan held several important positions in the Government of Tamil Nadu and in the Government of India.  In the Government of Tamil Nadu, he worked as Collector of Thanjavur District; Commissioner/ Secretary to the Government of Tamil Nadu in the Departments of Transport, Food, Cooperation, and Consumer Protection; Chairman of Tamil Nadu Electricity Board.  And in the Government of India, he worked as Chairman of Tuticorin Port Trust; Additional Secretary & Financial Advisor in the Ministry of Steel as well as in the Ministry of Civil Aviation and finally as Secretary (Coordination) in Cabinet Secretariat, before superannuating from the Government Service in March 2014. 

He has also served as Government Director in several Public Sector companies such as Air India, Airports Authority of India, Steel Authority of India Limited, Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Limited, Kudremukh Iron Ore Company Limited, and Metallurgical & Engineering Consultants (India) Limited.